How Sanef works

Sanef’s Management Committee meets fortnightly by teleconference. The Council meets four times a year, and the annual general meeting is held mid-year. Sanef has an office in Parktown, Johannesburg, staffed by a full-time executive director and an administrator. Running expenses are funded by the media industry, while individual projects or events are funded by other organisations. Our finances are audited annually and our fee-paying membership is by nomination.

Sanef Council

Mpumelelo Mkhabela – Sanef Member and Power FM Station Manager

Bongani Siqoko – Deputy Chairperson

Sanef Member Editor at Times Media

Katy Katopodis– Secretary General

Sanef secretary general and Group-Editor-in-Chief at Primedia

Angela Quintal – Treasurer

Sanef Member and Editor for Mail & Guardian

Mathatha Tsedu – Executive Director

Sanef executive director

Cecilia Russell– Convenor

Sanef Gauteng regional convenor and Editor of Saturday Star

Judy Sandison – Convenor

Sanef KwaZulu-Natal regional convenor and KZN Managing Editor of SABC

Janet Heard– Convenor

Sanef Western Cape regional convenor and Parliamentary Editor for Media 24

Harry Dugmore– Convenor

Sanef Eastern Cape regional convenor and Director Discovery Centre for Health Journalism Rhodes University

Adriaan Basson

Sanef media freedom chairperson and editor of Beeld

Raymond Louw

Sanef deputy media freedom chair and founder member, editor and publisher of Southern Africa Report

Chris Roper

Sanef convergence and digital chairperson and Mail & Guardian Editor-in-Chief

Glenda Daniels

Sanef diversity and ethics chairperson and Wits Journalism State of the Newsroom Editor

Ferial Haffajee

Sanef diversity and ethics deputy chairperson and City Press Editor-in-Chief

Mapi Mhlangu

Sanef Broadcasting chairperson and eNCAChannel News Director

Sarah Wild

Sanef education and training chairperson and Mail & Guardian Science Editor

Amina Frense

Sanef member and Managing Editor:TV news & current affairs at SABC

Izak Minnaar

Sanef member and Editor,Digital News at SABC

Jovial Rantao

Sanef member and Editor at Sunday Independent

Moshoeshoe Monare

Sanef member and Deputy Editor Mail & Guardian

Rapule Tabane

Sanef member and Political Editor at City Press

Jermaine Craig

Sanef member and Executive Editor at Cape Argus

Jannie Momberg

Sanef member and Editor at

Khosi Zwane-Siguqa

Sanef member and Editor at Drum